Management and board


Board of directors 

Board members' skills and experience and FirstRand committee memberships, group and external directorships are outlined in the 2017 FirstRand annual integrated report, which is published elsewhere on this website. 



William Rodger (Roger) Jardine

Independent non-executive chairman

BSc (Physics), MSc (Radiological Physics)

Appointed July 2010


Alan Pullinger 

CEO: FirstRand Limited 


Appointed October 2015 



Hetash Surendrakumar (Harry) Kellan

Executive financial director


Appointed January 2014


Johan Burger

Executive director

BCom (Hons), CA(SA)

Appointed January 2009 


Mary Sina Bomela

Non-executive director

BCom (Hons), CA(SA), MBA

Appointed September 2011 


Herman Bosman 

Non-executive director

BCom (Law), LLB, LLM, CFA

Appointed April 2017 


Jan Jonathan (Jannie) Durand

Non-executive director

BAcc (Hons), MPhil (Oxon), CA(SA)

Appointed October 2012 


Grant Glenn Gelink

Independent non-executive director

BCompt (Hons), BCom (Hons), CA(SA)

Appointed January 2013


Nolulamo Nobambiswano (Lulu) Gwagwa

Independent non-executive director

BA (Fort Hare), MTRP (Natal), MSC (cum laude) (London), PhD (London)

Appointed February 2004 


Paul Kenneth Harris

Non-executive director


Appointed July 1992 


Francois (Faffa) Knoetze

Non-executive director

BCom (Hons), Fellow of the Actuarial Society of South Africa

Appointed April 2016


Russell Mark Loubser

Independent non-executive director

BCom (Hons) (Accounting), MCom (Statistics), CA(SA)

Appointed September 2014


Thandie Sylvia Mashego

Independent non-executive director

Master of Business Leadership (MBL), Leadership Development Programme,
BCom (Hons) (Accounting), CA(SA)

Appointed January 2017


Ethel Gothatamodimo Matenge-Sebesho

Independent non-executive director

MBA (Brunel), CAIB (SA)

Appointed July 2010 


Paballo Joel Makosholo

Non-executive director

MCom, CA(SA)

Appointed October 2015


Amanda Tandiwe (Tandi) Nzimande 

Non-executive director

BCom, CTA (UCT), CA(SA), H Dip Co Law (Wits)

Appointed February 2008


Strategic executive committee (Stratco) 

Alan Pullinger

CEO: FirstRand Limited



Harry Kellan

CFO: FirstRand Limited



Jacques Celliers


BEng (Civil), MBA


James Formby


BCom (Hons), MPhil (Cambridge), CA(SA)


Chris de Kock

CEO: WesBank

BCom, AMP (Harvard) 


Boshoff Grobler

CEO: Ashburton Investments

BCom LLB, LLM (Banking and Stock Exchange Law)


Sifiso Mthembu

Head: Human Capital and Sustainability

BSocSc, BA (Hons) (Industrial Psychology),
Advanced HR Executive Programme (Michigan University)


Andries du Toit

Group Treasurer

BCom (Hons), CA(SA), HDip Tax, HDip International Tax